BPW Canada

President's Message

Linda Davis BPWC President

August 2020 April 2020 November 2018

Additional President's Messages are included in BPW Canada's Newsletters.

August 1, 2020

BPW Canada's 90th Anniversary

April 8, 2020

My Dear BPW Sisters,

With the COVID 19 pandemic, we are facing unprecedented times. I hope you and your loved ones are healthy and safe as we all practice social distancing. This has been one of the most difficult requests as we worry about family and friends that may need our help but knowing that we may endanger them simply by not keeping our distance. We must remember that by staying apart, we are standing together.

We recognize and salute our essential service workers who continue to put themselves and their loved ones at risk by going to work to provide access to medical care, food and medicine as well as news, utilities and behind the scenes help we often take for granted. Our profound thanks.

We also recognize the extreme efforts of our governments at all levels as they shift the focus from the normal operations to resolving this pandemic. They are working to get much needed medical supplies, ensure physical distancing by closing operations while continuing to keep our essential goods flowing. They are ensuring the jobless are paid, businesses can survive and people are staying connected to their employment. They are acting now and planning for our recovery, and we thank them.

I encourage everyone in your self-isolation to stay positive. Take this time to Spring Clean your home, your body and your world. This may be the perfect time to learn something new, finish that thing you have been putting aside or just to connect online with friends and family. Even this virtual requirement can be a learning opportunity and we may become much better connected in future. I myself was able to join the BPW Greater Moncton meeting for the first time, simply because they had changed to an online format, I was able to join their, very well attended, meeting.

We have not yet reached the apex of this pandemic in Canada but I am hopeful we will be all back together in a few short months. In the meantime, please remembers that BPW Canada is working hard to keep you informed through our website and social media. Also, clubs can use the BPW Canada GoToMeeting for your Executive or Membership meetings. Please contact Margo Davidson at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to arrange at no charge, during this time of social distancing.

For now, I would like to give you all a big virtual hug and I hope you stay well and positive as we stand “BPW Strong”.

Smiling is infectious, you catch it like the flu
When someone smiled at me today, I started smiling too.
I passed around the corner and someone saw my grin,
When he smiled I realized, I’d passed it on to him.
I thought about that smile, then I realized its worth,
A single smile just like mine, could travel round the earth.
So if you feel a smile begin, don’t leave it undetected,
Let’s start an epidemic quick, and get the world infected
~Russell H Cornwell

November 2018

I am honored and excited about the opportunity to serve as President of the Canadian Federation of Business and Professional Women (BPW Canada) for 2018 - 2020. For the past twenty-four years I have been fortunate to be a member of BPW. In those years I have served as local Club President, District Director, Provincial President, and National Vice President. Over these years, I have been so fortunate to come to know many of you and count on your support and friendship.

Among our diverse clubs across Canada, our common journey to strive for gender equality and balance in our communities, nationally and worldwide binds us in sisterhood. We want to make a difference. We strive to help, to have an impact and make the lives of others better.

Beginning with each one of you, we have many good reasons to feel optimism about the future of BPW. With almost 500 members in 26 clubs across Canada, the connections we make with each other, at the annual conferences, in meetings, and during phone calls, webinars, and social media, demonstrates the commitment we have to our work and our confidence in the future.

It is my great pleasure to work with exceptional women on the 2018 – 2020 BPW Canada Executive. Continuing on the Executive, Jenny Gulamani-Abdulla (BPW Calgary) moves to our Immediate Past-President and Karin Gorgerat (BPW Trenton and District) moves to our Vice-President, Membership. I welcome Caval Olson-Lepage (BPW Saskatoon) as First Vice-President, Maide Yazar (BPW North Toronto) as Vice-President, Resolutions and By-laws, Prima Mabonzo (BPW Montreal) as Vice-President Young BPW, Janet Riehm (BPW Ottawa) as Treasurer and Josèe Dufour (BPW Montreal) as Secretary.

Provincially I welcome the return of President Karen Burwash for Manitoba and Liaisons Dawn Nason for Alberta, Christine Poulin for Quebec and Guylaine Roy for New Brunswick. I also welcome newly appointed Presidents Linda Rice for Ontario, Caval Olson-Lepage for Saskatchewan, and Arlene Simpson for British Columbia/Yukon Territories. Shannon Ewing in her role as club’s President will serve as BPW Canada Online Club Liaison.

Doris Hall (BPW London) will continue to serve as Representative for the Canadian Coalition to Empower Women.

Thank you all for your willingness and dedication to serve our members for the next two years.

My leadership focus for the next two years will centre on a theme of She for She. Through this focus I hope to empower all BPW members and women in our communities to look at the things we do every day and recognize and celebrate those actions that promote women in a positive way.

For the next two years we have a number to tasks identified by our membership as priority items.

In the coming year the Executive will focus on...Read More..

BPW International

"Let us build together and see what we can make."

Lena Madesin Phillips, founder and first President of BPW International, 1930

BPW Canada Past - Presidents

BPW Canada