BPW Canada's Mandate:

To develop the professional and leadership potential of women in Canada through education, awareness, advocacy and mentoring within a supportive network.

Many women rise to the challenge as leaders in pursuit of this goal both in their community and workplace.
BPW Canada salutes these women, through its own Awards Program and others, listed below.

 Reel Women Helping Women  Visionary Awards  Centennial Recognition  BPWC Leadership 

BPW Canada Recognition Award: Reel Women Helping Women 2017

During the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), BPW Canada hosted a Celebration event at the Ritz Carlton Toronto to demonstrate their commitment in showcasing women's achievements in the film industry and close the gender gap in male-dominated industries and professions.

BPW Canada President, Jenny Gulamani-Abdulla, presented the Inaugural BPW Canada Recognition Award to Erika Olde, BPW Grand Cayman member, Co-Producer of "Woman Walks Ahead" and Founder of Black Bicycle Entertainment at the Ritz Carlton Toronto.

BPW Canada was thrilled to partner with TIFF’s Share Her Journey campaign to champion female storytellers and support women in the film industry. All proceeds from the silent auction of the inaugural Reel Women Helping Women Celebration event were donated exclusively to this cause.

RITZ website

BPW Canada Visionary Awards During Canada 150

After the 46th Annual General Meeting which took place in Moncton, New Brunswick, BPW Canada Delegates embarked on a trip to Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island to mark Canada's Sesquicentennial, the 150th Anniversary of Confederation.  The 2017 AGM ended on a high note with a presentation by President Jenny Gulamani-Abdulla entitled "Steering BPW Canada during Canada 150: Carving a Collective Bold Vision".  The presentation can be accessed by logging in as a member.  Visionary Awards were presented in Charlottetown as BPW Canada members took their seat around the Confederation Chamber Table.

Charlottetown BPW Canada Visionaries

Return To Top

BPW Canada Centennial Recognition Awards

During the 45th Biennial Convention in Calgary, Alberta, BPW Canada marked the Centennial Year of Women's Suffrage.  One hundred recipients, organizations that work hard each and every day across Canada to advance women, received the BPW Canada Centennial Recognition Awards. The list of recipients can be accessed here. 

Bessie Yasmin Amany Jenny Liz

Return To Top

BPW Canada Leadership Award Program

Rebranded in 2014, BPW Canada Members or clubs can nominate and award the BPW Canada Leadership Award to BPW Canada Members and non-BPW members in their community at the national level. This is so BPW Canada not only recognizes its own members but other outstanding women leaders across the country. Nominations may come from clubs or provinces but may also come directly from individual members in good standing.


Jami Young, BPW Saskatoon was the recipient of the 2018 BPW Canada Leadership Award. Jami is highly recognized and appreciated as one of Saskatoon's most involved community leaders, putting in hundreds of selfless hours each and every year. Jami’s commitment to philanthropy and volunteerism is unquestionable with contributions that have been substantial and far-reaching. 

Press Release - BPW Canada Leadership Award 2018

BPW Canada Leadership     BPW Canada Leadership

The BPW Canada Leadership Award:

  • A framed certificate.
  • A glass award engraved with the BPW Canada Logo, The Title "Leadership Award" and the recipient’s name.

The 2020 Leadership nomination package will be available soon.

Return To Top

Gender Wage Gap Award

bpwo advocacy award congress2017

Congress 2017: Dr. Chonchanok Viravan, BPW International (BPWI) Chair Adjudicator and BPWI President Dr. Yasmin Darwich presenting the third place BPW International Power to Make a Difference Through Advocacy - Excellent Advocacy for Women to BPW Ontario (BPWO). Accepting on behalf of the BPWO clubs: BPWC President Jenny Gulamani-Abdulla and BPWO Past-President Linda Davis.

BPWO's work with the Ontario Government’s Gender Wage Gap Steering Committee was noted.